Founders (Left to Right): Anna Easter Brown, Beulah Elizabeth Burke, Lillie Burke, Marjorie Hill, Margaret Flagg Holmes, Ethel Hedgeman Lyle, Lavinia Norman, Lucy Diggs Slowe, Marie Woolfolk Taylor.

Sophomores (Left to Right): Joanna Mary Berry Shields, Norma Elizabeth Boyd, Ethel Jones Mowbray, Sarah Meriweather-Nutter, Alice P. Murray, Carrie Snowden, Josephine Terry.

Founded on January 15, 1908 at Howard University in Washington, D.C., Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated is the oldest college based sorority founded by African-American women. The inspiration for its inception was Ethel Hedgemen Lyle, who along with fifteen other dynamic women saw a need for togetherness and “service to all mankind” for not only the campus of Howard University, but also for the entire world.

The perpetuity of this greatness was secured on January 29, 1913 by a movement for incorporation led by one of the sorority’s illustrious founders, Nellie Quander.

For more information about Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated please visit www.aka1908.com